The regular meeting of the Reedsville Board of Education was called to order at 6:29 P.M. by Board President John Ebert. Present: Board Members – John Ebert, Todd Cavanaugh, Jeff Deprez, Andrew Maertz, and Cory Kiekhaefer. Administrative Team Members – Mark Swanson, Tony Butturini, Michael Nate, and Tracie Wurm; Others: Laurie Towne, Karen Bowers, Sue Punt, Jodi Haese, Judy Hopman, Kris Hanson, Heather Baugniet, Chris Shimek, Courtney Orth, Jerold Korinek, Joe Schmatz, Darlene Propson, Eric Roffers, and Becky O’Leary.
John Ebert announced that proper legal notice of the meeting had been given.

I. Opening
A. The agenda was approved.
B. Pledge of Allegiance.

II. Public Input
Eric Roffers made a request for new wrestling mats.
Jerold Korinek spoke about change in staffing and school calendar due to snow days
Darlene Propson spoke about change to number of hours of instruction from days of instruction.

III. Reports
A. District Administrator
Mr. Mark Swanson reported as follows: 1. Course approvals – Laurie Towne & Craig Dellemann
Motion by Todd Cavanaugh, seconded by Andrew Maertz. 2. Director of Special Education / District
Assessment Coordinator position has been posted.

B. HS Principal
Mr. Tony Butturini reported as follows: 1. Teachscape certified 2. Cortney Orth – National honor,
Artimus USA “A Work of Art” Competition 3. Bobbi Jo Lund – Congrats on Herb Kohl Initiative
Scholarship Excellence recipient 4. Senior Class play – March 28th & 29th 5. NHS Induction

C. Elem/MS Principal
Mr. Michael Nate reported as follows: 1. Katie McKy visit. 2. In-service – Student Learning
Objectives. 3. Educator Effectiveness. 4. Summer School update. 5. ELA Curriculum 6. Dance
class and performance. 7. Mrs. Butturini held Math night.

D. School Psychologist/Supervisor of Special Education
Dr. Wurm reported as follows: 1. Children with Disabilities Program. Will class is attending job fair.
2. WKCE – Still on hold. 3.Smarter Balanced Assessment.

E. Board Members
Andrew Maertz reported on Wise Dash. Todd Cavanaugh – Happy St. Patrick’s Day.

IV. Old Business

V. Consensus Agenda Items
A. Approval of the minutes from regular board meeting on February 24, 2014 and closed session and special meetings on February 26, 2014 and March 10, 2014.
B. Discussion / Action – Payment of Bills.
Motion by Andrew Maertz, seconded by Cory Kiekhaefer. All ayes.

VI. New Business
A. Information: Notice of School Board Election
Incumbents: Todd Cavanaugh and Andrew Maertz
2013-2014 Election Timetable
April 1 – Spring Election
April 28 – School Board member take office.
B. Superintendent Contract Approval – Tony Butturini
Motion by Todd Cavanaugh, seconded by Andrew Maertz. All ayes.
Amendment made to initial motion to include High School Principal.
Motion by Todd Cavanaugh, seconded by Andrew Maertz. All ayes.
C. Employment recommendations – Resignations / Retirements – Steve Mirsberger – Business Ed and Athletic Director, Maribeth Blake – part-time speech therapist, Sue Punt – Middle School Athletic Director, Brigette Sonnabend – Special Ed aid, Ellen Pierce – NHS advisor. Add Tyler Zahn – Assistant Baseball Coach
Motion by Andrew Maertz, seconded by Todd Cavanaugh. All ayes. The Board appreciates all the service these individuals have given to the district.
E. Discussion – Initial 2014-2015 Initial Budget Data Points.
F. Discussion – Elementary / Middle School Principal Staffing Report 2014-2015.
G. Discussion – High School Principal Staffing Report for 2014-2015.

VII. Closed Session
Motion by Todd Cavanaugh, seconded by Cory Kiekhaefer to go into closed session at 8:05 P.M.
according to SS 19.85 (1) (c) Considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance
evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility. (Evaluations) The Reedsville Board of Education reserves the right to return to open session. Roll call vote. All ayes.

VIII. Return to Open Session
Motion by Jeff Deprez, seconded by Andrew Maertz. All ayes.

IX. Adjournment
Motion by Jeff Deprez, seconded by Andrew Maertz to adjourn at 9:03 PM. Motion carried.
Meeting adjourned.

Cory Kiekhaefer, Clerk